heart

What do I do with my heart?
How am I supposed to protect her when she does whatever the hell she wants?
She is full of hope but leaking fear.
Will it happen again?
Can a heart get crushed to dust twice?
Do I have any choice, or is she at the will of the butterflies?
I wish there was an expiration date for pain.
A will be faded by date for scars.
How can I know if the weeds of insecurities have been dug out?
Will they entangle me forever?
Is is possible to love less hard?
Unconditional love is meant to go both ways.
Why have I extended it but never felt its return?
I have no desire to have a hard heart.
But if she was hard maybe she wouldn’t have this many marks.
Can she still be desired in her “as is” condition?
Will I be able to look back and say it was all worth it?

One thing I do know is this,
The Lord is the strength of my heart.
So I will keep surrendering her to Him.

Leave a comment